Creative Writing · Depression · Emotional Abuse · Free Write · Poetry · Psychological Abuse · Self-harm

Broken 

My favorite place to be is not on the bathroom floor and yet, I find myself here more than I’d like.

The cold cement isn’t soothing but it stings my skin right.

The way I remember I’m alive.


The space heater on and burning my shins, the shower in the back hits ceramic splashes.


I have cuts on my thighs and chunks missing from my feet.

Each step I take reminds me.


I remember crawling to your seat.

This movie plays on repeat.


Images pass in my mind, I push the colors down and out.

There are things I am afraid to remember but I sleep all day attempting to forget.

My body aches and I tell them all I am sick.


I’m afraid to see the outside and I want to be unmet.


I ponder about the last two years and fear I will never be enough….


I loved you without restraint and it killed me.

You break me everyday. 

