Creative Writing · Free Write · Melancholy · Poetry · Reflection · Writing

Mommies 

Today

Conversing with you

I asked about your earliest memory

And you told me about the time you

could not find your mother

How your baby sister cried and cried

So you picked her up in your tiny arms

and carried her through the rooms

You took her down the giant wooden steps

into the dark basement

And your small but strong arms

still held onto your sister

As you continued to call out

You started crying as you admitted to me

That it was your scariest memory

And it made me think perhaps

This is who I am

Generations of scared little girls

Still searching for their mommies


I recall tonight how precious these moments are

As I remember the last time I sat with Grandpa

In that same room

Four hours passed

Without noticing

Without counting the time

Sometimes you just can not know


I have an image of us walking on the beach

I was 13 and we kicked off our sandals

Sand squishing in our toes

We were gone two hours and missed dinner


I will always remember the smell of your home

Mixed with your perfume

And grandpa’s cigarettes

Sometimes I get a lingering scent

As I walk down the street

Or through a hall

The words do not exist

The letters jumble and fade

Like another day

We wash this world away

